About Me

I received my MSc in Research Methods of Psychological Science with distinction from the University of Glasgow in Glasgow, Scotland, and graduated magna cum laude in 2010 from Endicott College in Beverly, MA with a BS in Psychology. My main interests are congruent with my passion for working with clinical populations, specifically those with dementia and other neurodegenerative diseases. Before moving to the UK to complete my masters, I spent time in the United States interning as a research assistant, and then working as a writing tutor and a nursing home activities assistant on a memory care unit. 

To successfully receive my masters degree I completed analysis on a project for the NEMO Consortium, an NIH funded group whose aim is to establish standardized protocol for classifying and analyzing event related potentials (ERP) and brain electrical activity. The goal of my MSc project, under the supervision of Dr. Kerry Kilborn, was to use electroencephalogram (EEG) techniques to identify a distinction between N400 and fN400 components. The overarching goal of this project is to define ERP components to be isolated as potential biomarkers for the early diagnosis and detection of Alzheimer’s and other dementias.

Currently, I am employed as a research assistant at the Weight Control and Diabetes Research Center at Brown Medical School and The Miriam Hospital in Providence, RI. The center encourages a multidisciplinary approach to weight loss, diabetes prevention, and health maintenance. We provide ongoing and innovative clinical trials to a variety of age groups in the greater Providence area. At the center, I have worked on four studies and am responsible for a multitude of tasks including 3T fMRI data analysis, study assessments, and participant correspondence, just to name a few. This position has allowed me to work at both the independent and group level to apply my research methods knowledge daily in a fast-paced research environment.

Aside from my excitement about the science and research world, I am also an avid traveler. Although I did not fly on an airplane until the time I was twenty years old, the travel bug bit me with a vengeance during my semester abroad in Sydney, Australia, and has not relented since. Since then I have visited ten countries and devoured as much of the United States as I can. During my year in Scotland, I fell in love with the culture, the scotch, and the landscapes.

updated: 20 November 2014

Leave a Reply

